Interview: Keeping it real

A couple of weeks ago I got interviewed by Mr. I. Europa of Cape Winelands Education. Here is the conversation:

 1. Does it bother you when people ask you about your private life?

Not really, there is nothing to hide.

2. Who’s really hiding behind that smile?

I’m just a quiet person and I don’t keep up with trivialities. I’m a bit serious with a good sense of humor.

3. What inspires you to get up every morning?

I am part of the youth, the future and I have a role to play. My grandfather, mother and father is my great source of inspiration. You can always draw on the wisdom of elders. Every day is a challenge. My surname says it all [Chellan :D ]. I take the ‘chellanges’ of life as it comes. There are opportunities for everyone.

Picture: citrusheights.net

4. Who or what irritates you the most?

People who complain about everything and people who give up easily. If you dream, you can achieve anything. I get terribly angry at people who blame their bad choices on their circumstances and people who throw their opportunities away.

5. Was the prize by chance or one of your dreams?

It was a team effort and we have certainly entered to possibly win the prize. Yet it was a pleasant surprise when my school informed me.

6. The perception of the youth is: casual e-freaks! Is this true?

Modern technology requires people to stay abreast of world events. Technology is necessary for academic growth and development. I blog, tweet and participate in modern communications that is required for our challenging technological lifestyle.

7. What do you think should be taboo for the youth?

Drugs, alcohol, irresponsible sex and especially the hookah are very disgusting.

8. You have embarked 2011 fearlessly? Is there something that scares you?

The future is always dark. Hard times are always there; especially the unknown university life is quite scary.

Picture: navneetsinghchauhan.blogspot.com

9. Future plans?

Medical doctor first and I want to work in public hospitals. The politics inspire me, maybe president. [Joke]
I would like to create a website that can serve as a fund for  cancer sufferers and perhaps, if possible, a clinic for the underprivileged.
I would like to help the unemployed to a piece of bread on the table. The issue of racial discrimination irritates me terribly, I want to help make democracy really working.

10. After successes in recent years, especially about your writing and involvement in the school newspaper, is a new target in your sight?

I would like to write articles as a freelance journalist. Despite many criticisms, I will continue to blog about current issues, especially around choices in life, politics, sport and just about anything.

11. What would you cut from your life?

People who mock and discourage others.

 
12. Something positive for your friends …

There are about 8 billion people in the world. Everyone can do something out of their lives.Be positive, keep your willpower and dream your dreams. Live your life fully. Our specie is boundless.

2 thoughts on “Interview: Keeping it real”

Leave a Reply

